Garlic scallion noodles

Today, Z only had a group meeting at 1pm followed by afternoon classes, so I decided to make lunch (which I don’t always, when I’m alone at home. I eat whatever I can find, e.g. cereal/yogurt, leftover soup, bak kwa, etc).  And since we still had scallions left over, I decided to make Steamy Kitchen’s Garlic Scallion Noodles.

Which is SO not me.  After all, I like to think that I’m a fairly healthy cook (okay, I know there’s tons more butter used in baking, but we generally don’t eat all of the baked product at one go), and the thought of swirling noodles in melted butter just seemed a little scandalous to me! (To be honest, I was a little grossed out when I saw the garlic and scallions swimming in butter) And sugar too?!

But since she made it sound SO good, I thought I’d give it a try.  And man, this oh-so-fragrant dish once again proves “why butter remains a firm favorite in spite of its unhealthy properties” (to quote Z)! Easy to make, good to eat – especially since we had the noodles with crispy pork floss (again, courtesy of SW – wonders never cease!) to add some nutritional value… maybe next time (when I don’t have scallions on hand), I’ll just use my garlic herb butter…

Go on, you know you want to try it…

Steamy Kitchen’s Garlic Scallion Noodles

7 ounces (just under 200g) skinny dry egg noodles – we cooked our normal serving size
1/4 cup chopped scallions
3 garlic cloves, finely minced
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon fish sauce – skipped, since I don’t have fish sauce
1 tablespoon oyster sauce
3 tablespoons (about 45g) butter

1. Soak noodles: in cold water for 2 minutes. Drain. Soak in boiling hot water for 3 minutes. Drain. Use chopsticks to separate the noodles well. [Note: I just boiled them directly without soaking, since that’s how I cook the egg noodles normally]

2. Fry the aromatics: In wok or large saute pan, heat about 3 tablespoons butter over medium-low heat. Before the butter gets too hot, add the scallions and garlic. Fry until fragrant, but careful not to let it burn. Slowly frying on med-low heat will flavor the butter. Add brown sugar, fish sauce and oyster sauce. Stir.

3. Fry the noodles: Add the drained noodles. Fry for 2 minutes, or until the noodles are done (if need be, read instructions on packaging)

Leave a Reply

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

